School Starts

Donq_Boulangerie

In a blink of an eye, school starts in two days time. Orientation has been enjoyable, contrary to my prior assumptions, and I’ve meet awesome people along the way. It has been tiring too – long hours in the sun and water, playing the games the organizers have put together. It was all good fun, and now it’s time to get down to business.

I went for a long run today, and that offered a momentary peace for reflection, about the past year, what I have been doing, and what I am going to do. There have been many twists and turns, marked by my ventures to places foreign – Kerala, Nagano, Paris, London and Rome. So much for wanderlust, being back home was just as rewarding.

My stage at 2am:dessertbar ended not too long ago, and that experience has left me with an ever stronger conviction that someday I will be back in the kitchen. With much reluctance I have to put this pursuit on hold, and the only way forward is to believe. 3 years is a long time, but better late than never.

A friend once told me that business school will change me. I shivered at the thought. But it is an awful idea to shun away from new experiences and ideas. While I have never been a fan (nor a non-fan) of Star Trek, I happened to sit through the film made in 2002 and picked up a quote from it.

“I aspire, sir, to be better than I am.” – Data

I’m bordering on being inspirational and cheesy, but it’s a functional belief to hold on to. I will change – for the better I hope, and just keep running in the right direction.

Bon Weekend!

P.S. I had a croissant from DONQ (located at the basement of Takashimaya) and it’s my favorite thus far on this sunny island.

P.S.S My windows phone broke down and I’ve thus switched to Android. Therefore I’m now on instagram. So much for new social media.

2 comments
  1. good luck with school!

    that raisin loaf looks great – I didn’t see it at DONQ the last time I was there but must keep a look out for it now!

    • Roo said:

      Thank you!

      It’s seasonal, just available for this month if I’m not wrong. It’s actually Fruit du vin rouge, so besides raisins there were cranberries I think. I like it but I prefer more rustic breads!

Leave a Reply

